Protecting & Defending the Rights of the Accused
Bryan, TX DWI Defense Attorney
Board Certified Lawyer Serving Brazos County
Driving while intoxicated from alcohol and/or drugs is one of the most common criminal cases heard in Texas courts. It often happens to individuals who have never had any previous trouble with the law. Even as a first offense, however, a DWI charge is a serious matter that carries harsh penalties, plus the collateral damage of losing your license and moving forward with a permanent criminal record. Because of this, you owe it to yourself to seek expert legal counsel.
If you were arrested for drunk driving, turn to The Law Office of Jay Granberry for superior legal representation from our Bryan, TX DWI lawyer. Attorney Jay Granberry is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and has decades of criminal law experience, both as a former prosecutor and as a trial lawyer—you will be hard-pressed to find another attorney with such outstanding qualifications. We recommend that you call our DWI defense attorney in Bryan when facing charges for the counsel and support you need.
Arrested for drunk driving in Texas? Contact a Bryan DWI lawyer at The Law Office of Jay Granberry online or dial 979-353-6632 for a free initial consultation.
If the authorities believe that you are driving under the influence, they usually very persistent and will look at even the slightest indication that you are driving while intoxicated.
If you are arrested for drunk driving:
- Be respectful to the officer.
- Do not admit guilt.
- Do not say anything -- Miranda Rights allow you to remain silent because what you say may be used against you later in court
- Request an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days.
- Get a free initial consultation with a skilled Bryan DWI attorney at The Law Office of Jay Granberry -- call 979-353-6632.
DWI Charges and Penalties in Texas
Texas law uses the term “operating” a vehicle when defining this offense, which means that you can be charged even if you have not actually driven your car down the road. The mere act of having the keys in the ignition and the ability to affect the function or operation of the vehicle while intoxicated from alcohol or drug use can lead to a DWI. If your BAC measures .15 percent or more, you will face even stiffer penalties than otherwise.
You can be arrested and charged with drunk and/or drugged driving in Texas under the following circumstances:
- As an adult driver, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or higher
- As a driver under the age of 21, your BAC measures .02 percent or more
- You visibly demonstrate being intoxicated by drugs or alcohol as observed by law enforcement
Penalties for a first DWI offense include:
- Jail time of 72 hours up to 6 months
- Fines of up to $2,000
- A loss of your driving privileges for 90 days up to a year
- Completion of a DWI education program
Additionally, your insurance premiums are likely to spike. Penalties are enhanced if you are found driving with a child passenger; driving with a BAC in excess of .15 percent; facing a second, third, or subsequent conviction; or seriously injuring or killing another in a DWI traffic accident.
Free Consultation With a Bryan DWI Lawyer at 979-353-6632
A DWI can be serious and will affect your life if you are convicted. Get in touch with a seasoned criminal attorney in Brazos County near you to ensure that you rights are protected. At The Law Office of Jay Granberry, our Bryan DWI attorney has handled many cases successfully throughout the years and can provide the right representation that you need to win yours. Contact us today.
Reach out to an experienced Bryan DWI lawyer at The Law Office of Jay Granberry for skilled defense against your charges. Complete an online form or call 979-353-6632 to make an appointment for a free initial consultation.