Protecting & Defending the Rights of the Accused
Theft Crime Defense Attorney in Bryan, TX
Types of Theft under Texas Law
The crime of theft can be committed in a variety of ways under Texas law. Basically, it occurs when you deprive another of his or her property without permission. Most theft crimes in Texas are charged and punished according to the value of the goods or services stolen, which means charges can run the gamut from the lowest misdemeanor to the most serious felony.
Types of theft prosecuted under Texas law often include:
- Misdemeanor theft
- Felony theft
- Vehicle theft
- Passing bad checks
- Identity theft
- Dealing in stolen goods
Yes, in the State of Texas shoplifting charges can be a felony. Shoplifting charges range from being a class C misdemeanor to being a first degree felony, the severity of the charges depend on the amount of the theft in question as well as any prior convictions.
What Is the Punishment for Theft in Texas?
The least serious types of theft are charged as Class C, Class B, and Class A misdemeanors, which carry fines of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to a year. When goods or services valued between $1,500 and $20,000 are stolen, the crime is elevated to a state jail felony punishable by 180 days up to 2 years in jail and fines of up to $10,000. Beyond this, depending on the value of property or services stolen, third-degree, second-degree, or first-degree felony charges may apply.
Robbery, which is theft involving the use of force or intimidation, and burglary, which is generally defined as illegally entering a home or business with the intent to commit theft, are also charged as felonies. How these offenses are charged will depend on the severity of the crime, the intent, whether a weapon was used, and other circumstances.
What is Considered a Class C Misdemeanor Theft in Texas?
In Texas, a Class C misdemeanor theft occurs when the value of the stolen property is less than $100. Examples of Class C theft offenses may include shoplifting or stealing small items, such as a piece of candy or a magazine, from a store.
The punishment for a Class C misdemeanor theft offense in Texas may include a fine of up to $500, but no jail time. However, repeat offenders may face harsher penalties, including higher fines and potential jail time.
It is important to note that theft crimes in Texas can be charged as more serious offenses if the value of the stolen property exceeds certain thresholds. For example, theft of property valued at $100 to $750 is considered a Class B misdemeanor, while theft of property valued at $750 to $2,500 is considered a Class A misdemeanor.
Why You Need The Law Office of Jay Granberry
Being convicted of a theft crime can have a major impact on your future. Because it is associated with dishonesty, it may be difficult to find future employment. Along with this, a permanent criminal record of a theft offense can impair your ability to find housing, be eligible for financial aid, or obtain a professional license.
To fight back for the best possible outcome, we advise you to contact The Law Office of Jay Granberry, where you can rely on a proven defense lawyer with 25 years of experience and Board Certification in Criminal Law from the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. In any case of theft, your future may depend on the quality and commitment of your legal representation. Our award-winning firm has demonstrated its excellence with extensive trial experience, knowledge, and legal training.